Questions! Nominations!: Look, It’s Liebster Awards Time Again!!

Thank You To Michael J. Miller @ mycomicrelief AND Vickanddrea @ anerdynook For My Latest Liebster Awards!

look-liebster-time-again

“The man who has no imagination has no wings” – Muhammad Ali.

Well, bless my crossguard lightsabre! 

It’s been several months now since my last Liebster Award. Just when it seemed like the popularity of this blog was waning, and Stats plummeting irretrievably, so then TWO Noms come through in a matter of days! 

So, this blogger must be doing something right…

Here, Michael’s questions were received and worked out first; don’t feel bad about that, Vick and Drea – holding your good judgment in equal esteem! 

Just having come through a difficult, physically and mentally draining couple of months, this news gives me – and especially my writing – a positive BOOST. 

MANY THANKS.

Here is the obligatory Liebster logo:

LiebsterAward

“Awards are lovely and always welcome” – Max von Sydow.

As usual, this Liebster Award Post works like this:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated them.
  • Answer the 11 questions they give you.
  • Nominate up to 11 other bloggers yourself
  • Provide those bloggers with 11 questions of your own for them to answer.

 

Now, those answers you’ve been patiently waiting for: 

1)  What is one of your earliest/happiest book-related (be it comic or otherwise) memories?

eddie-jones-warbots

“I thought it was a bit too quiet in this place, Boots. Here come the guard-dogs and I don’t like the look of their teeth” – Rory Pricer. 

The answer to this first question was planned as a separate Post, but because it was a life-changing event of a book, we might as well talk about it here:

space-warriors-cover

The Space Warriors, by Stewart Cowley, published in 1980 (and most likely bought that same year) did more than any other to spark my initial – and lifelong – interest in all-things-SF. It’s not just a tale about ‘Boots’ Walker and Rory Pricer of the Federal Security Force and their scrapes with the sinister alien: Phantor Gorth, but a compilation of the most stunning ’70s SF art, the majority of which was produced by the incomparable Eddie Jones. 

If books should function as portals of wonder for overactive infant minds, then The Space Warriors certainly did the trick for me!

2)  Is there an author you’ve found whose work resonates deeply with you? 

Fortunately, there has been a considerable pantheon of inspirational authors in my life, such as Pat Mills, H.P. Lovecraft, J.R.R. Tolkien, Ray Bradbury (hey! another swell writer named Brad), and Arthur C. Clarke to name but a few. All of these produced work that “resonates deeply” with me – difficult to name just one. 

3)  What is the point of literature (again, comic and/or otherwise) in your life?  What do you get from reading?

To escape, to broaden my vocab and/or to just catch up with the classics by some of the most creative individuals to ever pick up a pen/pummel a keyboard.

4)  Why is your blog focused on the topics you’ve chosen?  If you can write about anything, why this?

Science fiction seems quite an obvious choice with which to concentrate my blog. In recent years, whilst working abroad, this particular interest had to be pushed to the back of my mind. Even when first setting out this blog, it took a few Posts before settling on SF as my main focus.

5)  Do you hold yourself to any sort of schedule as a writer (for example, you must write a little every day or do a post every week) or do you just write when you feel so moved?  Why is this your chosen path?

A new Post should average every 4-5 days; at least, that was the plan, but you know, there are times – such as these particularly gruelling last few months – when other things get in the way.

But this is my chosen path simply because creativity can be quite therapeutic. 

space-warriors-p37-eric-ladd

6)  What role do you think illustrations play (as always, speaking in regard to comic books specifically or other forms of literature as well) in telling a story?

A very important role! Illustrations are integral to the overall look and attraction to the reader. A keen – yet out of practice – artist myself, how the covers of my novels will look depends greatly on what masterpiece MY imagination can concoct.

Look at any number of How To Blog articles and they will always state that blogs with illos have higher chances of pulling in more readers. (Notice how illos have been liberally sprinkled throughout this Post to help break up the tedium of this text).

7)  Name one story (however you’d like to define that term) that’s been important to your life and discuss why.

Just one? 

Well, that topic is already reserved for a separate forthcoming Post, but as a clue, it features a superhero who has already appeared in two of his own movies… 

8)  Name one character you’ve encountered that’s been particularly important to you and discuss why.

doctor_who_DWM_6_magog_2

The Doctor: “I’ll try and translate the joke for you if you like, Ironicus. You see, these three aliens walk into a bar and the first alien says-” 

General Ironicus: “Silence! You may not speak to me! My light is not on!”  

The Doctor: “Ah, you’ve heard it before!” 

Magog immediately springs to mind.

My all-time fave Doctor Who story never appeared on TV, but in the first eight issues of Dr Who Weekly, launched in 1979.

Doctor Who and the Iron Legion featured the frightening alternate scenario of a Roman Empire that never fell, but instead went on to conquer the galaxy. (You can find out more about it here). With a script by Pat Mills and John Wagner, and art by Dave Gibbons, at such a tender age it latched on to my burgeoning interests in science fiction and Ancient Roman history and influenced me like nothing else. 

But the introduction of Magog – the most foul member of that fearsome race: the Malevilus – had such a profound effect on me. Establishing himself as a god, he advanced the technology of the Roman Empire, and could take on the forms of other beings, as well as twist their minds. 

So much potential, but he was prematurely zapped into an empty dimension far too conveniently. After a “redesign” he became my property. No less than five novellas were produced, expanding and improving this intriguing character.

Will have to get them out for Christmas… 

9)  I’ve always felt that writing is important.  But, given the many, many options for sharing your thoughts and opinions in the Internet age, why do you write as opposed to vlogging or simply tweeting or sharing music or any of the other options out there?

Agreed, writing IS important. 

It’s a skill/job/pastime performed long before this “Internet Age” set off. Dunno how to vlog (yet). And tweeting? Restricted by the number of characters you can use? Uff, where’s the fun in that? 

Besides, writing novels, or scripts, is more challenging as it involves producing something really distinct and creative, and will (should) make a difference. To read some of my forays into fiction, see here, or here.

10)  Has there been anything challenging about blogging since you’ve started writing for an online audience?

Trying to create content that will be consistently popular. It’s great to learn that a new Follower has clambered aboard, but trying to encourage them to leave Likes and Comments – and on a regular basisis a challenge in itself.

On a technical level, loading vids/gifs could only be accomplished by switching to a different Theme. Some gifs present problems (i.e. ‘they can load, but don’t move’ being the most recurrent bamboozler).

11)  Lastly, what have you found to be the most rewarding part of blogging since you began your writing venture?

Undoubtedly, meeting other like-minded bloggers and reading their (re)views!

Such a talented bunch here in the blogosphere – my only regret is not working it out and getting online much sooner!

*

Without further ado (Yay! Always wanted to type that), here are my 11 Nominees:

1.bookwormsandbaking

2.boxofficebuzz

3.filmgrimoire

4.onceuponatime

5.parlorofhorror

6.precinct1313

7.recoverytowellness

8.scifijubilee

9.scrollsabound

10.thecourseofevents

11.wordsforeverything

And now, my lovelies, time to reveal those questions you’re just itchin’ to answer!

voight-kampff

“They’re just questions, Leon. In answer to your query they’re written down for me. It’s a test, designed to provoke an emotional response… Shall we continue?” – Holden. 

i. Which novel/comic first inspired you to take up writing?

2. Which novel/comic book character should get his/her own movie?

3. What’s your favourite word?

4. Who is your favourite villain, and why?

5. What is the single GREATEST scene in science fiction movie history?

6. If you could invite 3 famous people to dinner, who would you choose?

7. Absolutely DREAD the prospect of Blade Runner 2! Which sequel/remake do you NOT wish to see?!

8. Which book do you wish you had written?

9. What will be the next book you want to buy?

10. What aspect about writing/blogging do you enjoy the most?

11. How is it that this blogger can EAT SO MUCH CAKE and STILL be a perfect example of hunky manliness?

Looking forward to reading your answers!

Cheers!

eddie jones

“Phantor Gorth’s cruiser drifted a short distance away from the station, and Boots edged closer. A figure appeared in the open bay door and the Commander snapped off a quick shot but missed as the alien ducked back inside.” 

21 thoughts on “Questions! Nominations!: Look, It’s Liebster Awards Time Again!!

  1. Congrats my friend, most deserved! Thank you for the nomination, I shall do an acceptance post as soon as I can, loving your questions, so look forward to answering them. Have a Zarjaz day! 🙂

    • Florix Grabundae, Bruce!
      So good to see u back here again, amigo!
      Looking forward to your answers – I know they will b absolutely scrotnig!
      And zarjaz times for u, good sir!
      Cheers!

  2. Thanks for the nom! 🙂 These posts are always fun. Here are my answers to the questions, had fun putting them together!

    1. Which novel/comic first inspired you to take up writing?

    When I was a little kid, I used to take picture books from the library, ignore the words and use the illustrations to make up my own stories. I guess that sparked my love of writing at a very early age!

    2. Which novel/comic book character should get his/her own movie?

    I recently read and loved a book called “The Rosie Project” and I was excited to find out they are making a movie of it.

    3. What’s your favourite word?

    Metamorphosis.

    4. Who is your favourite villain, and why?

    Darth Vader–he’s one of my favorite Star Wars characters and I love how he turns away from the dark side at the very end and saves his son.

    5. What is the single GREATEST scene in science fiction movie history?

    Going along with my previous answer, I love the scene where Darth Vader reveals that he is Luke’s father. It’s my all-time favorite plot twist and totally transforms the Star Wars plot and takes it to a new level.

    6. If you could invite 3 famous people to dinner, who would you choose?

    Benedict Cumberbatch, Robert Downey Jr., and Simon Pegg. I’d love to meet all three of them–hopefully they’re actually nice in real life!

    7. Absolutely DREAD the prospect of Blade Runner 2! Which sequel/remake do you NOT wish to see?!

    I really don’t want to see a remake of Indiana Jones. I don’t mind if they continue the stories with Indy’s son (I’d still love to see Chris Pratt take a crack at this role) but I don’t want them to redo the franchise.

    8. Which book do you wish you had written?

    I really wish I had written the Harry Potter series. I’d definitely have a lot more money than I do now! 😉

    9. What will be the next book you want to buy?

    I’m planning to buy the new Harry Potter book, although it’s actually the script for the play, I believe. I want to see how the story continues.

    10. What aspect about writing/blogging do you enjoy the most?

    Having conversations with other bloggers about movies and TV. It’s fun to get to know people and hear their opinions.

    11. How is it that this blogger can EAT SO MUCH CAKE and STILL be a perfect example of hunky manliness?

    As long as you eat cake for special occasions, the calories don’t count because it’s part of the celebration (or at least that’s what I’ve heard). 😉

    • 1. V charming!
      2. Hope u enjoy it!
      3. WOW, good choice!
      4. Obviously! I knew he was!
      5. Naturally – definitely th best (scariest!) twist of all time
      6. Benny, Downey & Peggy – nice!
      7. Take a crack (of th whip? – nice one) 😉
      8. Th Wizard of $$$
      9. Hope u enjoy that as well!
      10. YAY!
      11. YUMMY!
      Great answers, Ash! Glad to know someone takes part in this!
      Did u dig that pic of Mark & Daisy?! Totally awesome pair! 1 of my fave pics of th yr – just had to have it!
      Cheers!

  3. Congratulations on your award! Enjoyed reading your answers to the questions, The Iron Legion Dr Who comic strip story is one of my favourites too. Thank you for my nomination as well, cheers 🙂

    • Thank u v much. Paul!
      Delighted to hear that Th Iron Legion is 1 of your faves too! Wow, that’s totally awesome!
      Was glad to list scifijubilee; an excellent range of new comics reviewed – keeps me informed as I am way too out-of-touch w th current scene, man
      Keep up th good work, sir!
      Cheers!

      • Yes, there have been lots a great Dr Who comic strips, but I think Iron Legion is one of the very best. So close to to spirit of the show itself. Thank you, glad to hear you enjoy reading Sci-Fi Jubilee, I have great fun writing it, and try and cover all the comics and subjects that interest and inspire me most. Cheers 🙂

      • Th earliest Dr Who Weekly strips – scripts by Mills & Wagner, w art by Dave Gibbons – were th best; had no idea that first 1 would b a life-changer!
        I’ll b glad if u will guide us thro this DC Rebirth; some titles look promising, but will make no purchases – simply run out of space here!
        Will b writing about some classic 70s & 80s stuff in forthcoming Posts which I hope will interest & inspire u!
        Thanks again
        Cheers!

      • Yes, those early Doctor Who comic strips were fantastic. I’ll certainly do my best to cover some of the DC Rebirth titles. I tend to try and include a mix of titles from various publishers, but sure there will be plenty of DC I’ll review as well. Will look forward to what articles and reviews you have in store as well 🙂

      • I look forward to your coverage of various publishers.
        Articles, reviews and fiction, in varying degrees of quantity & quality: Brad To Th Bone!
        Cheers!

  4. I loved your answers! Thank you so much for the thoughtful responses. Also, thank you for the (inadvertent) nudge that I need to indulge in ‘Doctor Who.’ It is a HUGE hole in my pop culture knowledge. I’ve been intimidated by starting a show with such a long history but I know I need to… Plus, I’ve gotten too many rave reviews from people I trust that I should watch it! So thanks for that too – my most recent nudge to indulge in the world of ‘Doctor Who!’

    • Thank YOU for this nomination – this is turning out to b a popular Post!
      These “thoughtful responses” gave me a chance to take a trip down memory lane, so thanks for that!
      May I recommend th 4th regeneration: Tom Baker (1974-1981) – widely regarded as th best Doctor.
      Personally not keen w this new post-2005 version of th show, but hope u can enjoy it
      U r welcome to check out this celebratory introduction to Tom Baker’s Doctor here:
      https://bradscribe.wordpress.com/2015/11/30/who-knows/
      It includes a clip of the Best Dr Who Scene Ever (to whet your appetite)
      “See u earlier”
      Cheers!

  5. Thank you very much for the nomination!
    1. Which novel/comic first inspired you to take up writing?
    I don’t think there was ever one specific book. I’ve always loved reading, and writing kind of just naturally came with it. The Hobbit inspires me to try to write that well, though.

    2. Which novel/comic book character should get his/her own movie?
    Black Widow, I would love to learn about her backstory and it would be such an awesome movie.

    3. What’s your favourite word?
    Hiraeth.

    4. Who is your favourite villain, and why?
    Moriarty, from the BBC Sherlock. He’s delightfully crazy, but so clever and manipulative. He’s a very impressive villain and has serious style.

    5. What is the single GREATEST scene in science fiction movie history?
    I haven’t seen many science fiction movies, so I guess I’ll have to say Ender’s Game, although it isn’t a very good adaptation. The scene where he’s directing the fleet in the final battle is pretty cool though.

    6. If you could invite 3 famous people to dinner, who would you choose?
    Gerard Way, Sebastian Stan, and Tyler Joseph.

    7. Absolutely DREAD the prospect of Blade Runner 2! Which sequel/remake do you NOT wish to see?!
    I probably will still watch them, but all the Disney movies that are getting sequels and thirds don’t excite me very much. They’ve done too many; they aren’t as good a third time. (ex. Kung Fu Panda 3)

    8. Which book do you wish you had written?
    The whole Lord of the Rings trilogy, but if I have to pick one, The Return of the King.

    9. What will be the next book you want to buy?
    Any of The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken. I only have one and I’d like to own the rest.

    10. What aspect about writing/blogging do you enjoy the most?
    I love being able to put all my thoughts down for others to read, and just having somewhere to express myself and talk about things I want to talk about.

    11. How is it that this blogger can EAT SO MUCH CAKE and STILL be a perfect example of hunky manliness?
    Dessert goes to the heart, not the stomach.

    • Thank u so much for your answers, Kyla!
      1. LotRs was a v early inspiration to me!
      2. That wld be interesting!
      3. Wow, that’s not in my dictionary!
      4. Good choice!
      5. I must have fallen asleep before that…
      6. I’m only familiar w th 1 in th middle
      7. Walt Dismal?
      8. Fine, I’ll do th Two Towers!
      9. Will have to look that 1 up
      10. I really enjoy th thots u put down
      11. Yay, I want a T-shirt stating that!
      Cheers!

  6. Thank you so much for the nomination! I will write up a response post soon. I’m looking forward to answering the questions, a couple might be really tough to answer. 😀

Leave a Reply

