“Over The Hill With The Swords Of A Thousand Men!”: Song A Day Challenge – Day #1

Manic Music Monday: Welcome To The Song a Day Challenge

Thank You To Danica For Nominating Me!

Here are the rules:

  • Post a song a day for five consecutive days (I’m posting consecutive Mondays!)
  • Post the name of the song and video
  • Post what the lyrics mean to you (optional)
  • Nominate two (or one) different blogger each day of the challenge

My Song of the Day:

Tenpole Tudor – “Swords Of A Thousand Men” (1981)

What the lyrics mean to me:

Well, ‘oorah, ‘oorah, ‘oorah, yea!

This is stirring stuff and no mistake; back in the day – the ’80s of course! – so much FAB pop music could be lapped up.

Like so many of the classics of this long-gone and much-missed era, this punk classic exudes FUN, a more agreeable f-word that seems to have been eradicated from a “music” industry now as dull and miserable as the poxy weather in this video!

Look ye here: nothing could be more English than a bunch a’ mates arsin’ about in an English field; rockabillies in chainmail; drummers on tables and flag-wavin’ and ale-swillin’ a-plenty, by Jove! 

Hear their shouts, hear their roar
They’ve probably all had a barrel or much, much more, indeed!
HUZZAH!

*

My Nominee:

boxofficebuzz

 

17 thoughts on ““Over The Hill With The Swords Of A Thousand Men!”: Song A Day Challenge – Day #1

    • Thanks, Danica!
      Start w a real stomper! It had to b done! Thot I’d leave th slower, more tender ballad for later.
      Just wait until *next* Monday: th choice will b even MORE mental!
      Cheers!

      • Neither can I! Intrigued as to what u will select next!
        I’m already thinking I need more than just 5 days
        Manic Music Monday seems to b th perfect pick-up, but th response so far has been minimal
        Anyway, plenty of other awesomeness in store!
        Cheers!

      • It would make a great regular feature! I’d enjoy tour Manic Music Monday. 🙂
        Response will come… just keep blogging your love!
        I enjoy all your awesomeness. 🙂

      • Well, that’s 1! In that case, might as well just e-mail it straight to u, ha!
        As u know, lots of love goes into these Posts, but if and when I can b as popular/successful as u, then I’ll b satisfied!
        I enjoy your awesomeness too!
        Cheers!

      • Haha, of course, please send me whatever you like!
        Your readers love your posts! It seems that you’re putting pressure on yourself… your blog is awesome. 🙂

      • No pressure – re: those readers who love my Posts – wish they wld get in touch and give me feedback!
        I really appreciate all your Comments, Danica!
        Thank u for your support

Leave a Reply

