Drowned In Moonlight: Carrie Fisher 1956-2016

Carrie Fisher 21 October 1956- 27 December 2016

carrie-fisher-as-princess-leia-in-star-wars-episode-iv-a-new-hope

“no words #Devastated” – Mark Hamill.

The news had just broke when Brad stepped through the front door yesterday evening. Mum just about made it into my arms before breaking down – she knew how much Star Wars meant to me, so had no idea how to tell me.

Carrie Fisher, who has died aged 60…

Sorry, but typing those words just feels so unreal. 

Still feel numb – can’t think properly (as has been my wont this year anyway) and my fingers are trembling far too much. Have had to endure too much pain and torment this year already, so am emotionally spent.

Very rarely does an actress get to be indelibly linked with such a defining role. At the outset, George Lucas did not want a stereotypical damsel in distress. In the original Star Wars, Princess Leia was tough enough to blast her way out of the detention level, but not prepared to be obstructed by a walking carpet.

Look how she fearlessly she stood against Grand Moff Tarkin; even when confronted by Darth Vader himself, it’s amazing how defiant she could be!

Who but Carrie Fisher, in the 1970s, could have made Princess Leia such a resilient inspirational and enduring character?

As Mark Hamill so eloquently stated in his latest heartfelt tribute, she was Our Princess. She moved and inspired so many girls as well as boys. 

Leia

“I thought I had got what I wanted under the tree. I didn’t… I am very, very sad” – Anthony Daniels.

Fortunately for us, there was so much more to Carrie Fisher than the Princess. She excelled as a smart and funny writer.

Postcards From The Edge was a semi-autobiographical novel of the relationship with he mother, and the subsequent screenplay for the film of the same name. Her first memoir in 2008: Wishful Drinking concentrated on her mental health.

Her newly-published second memoir: The Princess Diarist is a collection of her teenage diaries, telling how she got involved in a “cool, off-the-radar movie directed by a bearded guy from Modesto.” 

Its most sensational confession: a three-month affair with co-star Harrison Ford: “I had feelings for him (at least five, but sometimes as many as seven).”

Although sometimes rambling and repetitive, she includes chatty observations and self-deprecating one-liners. Besides having showbiz parents, she states how unprepared she was for fame:

“What is it? Do I deserve it? What does this make me…? A thing like Star Wars wasn’t going to make people want to play with a doll of you, was it?” 

star-wars-general-leia-force-awakens

“Carrie was one-of-a-kind… brilliant, original. Funny and emotionally fearless. She lived her life bravely…” – Harrison Ford.

A talented, smart and very funny woman has been taken from us far too soon. 

Apparently, Carrie had completed her reprisal of General Leia for Star Wars VIII (due next December) but whatever form that takes, it will undoubtedly make such bittersweet viewing. 

For me, the only time tears flowed at the cinema during 2015 was seeing Carrie Fisher back in the galaxy far far away after so long apart. Watching any instalment of our favourite saga from now on is going to be very difficult…

Had intended to upload some more fiction today, but the time does not feel right. Still going to produce more feelgood stuff; Carrie Fisher got through her troubles by writing; Brad will honour her memory by doing the same.

leia bespin

“Remember the white dress I wore all the way through that film? 

George came up to me the first day of filming took one look at the dress and said:

‘You can’t wear a bra under that dress’ 

‘OK, I’ll bite,’ I said. ‘Why?’ 

And he said: ‘Because… there’s no underwear in space.’

He said it with such conviction. 

He explained: ‘You go into space and you become weightless. Then your body expands and your bra doesn’t, so you get strangled by your own underwear.’

I think that this would make a fantastic Obituary…

No matter how I go, I want it reported that I drowned in moonlight, strangled by my own bra” – Carrie Fisher.

16 thoughts on “Drowned In Moonlight: Carrie Fisher 1956-2016

  1. Lovely post. This isn’t how any of us wanted 2016 to end. 😦 I had assumed she would be with us for many years to come. Her performance in the Star Wars revival is so bittersweet now; I’m glad we’ll get to see her as the princess one last time but we needed Carrie Fisher the person for many more years than we got her. Of all the celebrity losses in 2016, this one hits the hardest for me. 😦

    • Hope u’re not dwelling on this loss for too long, Ash.
      There was so much more writing to come from Carrie Fisher – reading her work now will not b th same
      Had a hard time trying to string a coherent sentence, let alone complete this Post, so it’s good to know u still approve

  2. This is a beautiful and personal tribute to an amazing woman. As Lor San Tekka says in ‘The Force Awakens,’ “To me, she is royalty.” She’ll always be royalty to us! May the Force be with her, always.

    • Our Princess as Mark Hamill stated.
      Struggled to write this – th post I thot I wldn’t have to write yet – to stand out: make it personal; I didn’t think this Post wld turn out beautiful, but heartened to know u approve, amigo.
      She has been – and always will b – royalty to us

  3. Thank you for this great post. All I could think was that I just “saw” her in Rogue One last weekend so the suddenness of it is the worst. Such a heartbreaking time right now but this was a great tribute to her.

    • Yes, all girls – and boys! – idolized her/Princess Leia. She enriched and inspired our lives, and yes, her irreverent sense of humor was a joy, and will b greatly missed
      Thank u for your Comment

Leave a Reply

