Luke And Brad: The Two Dreamers Who Had To Unlearn What They Have Learned.

Kylo Ren Is NOT Luke Skywalker. Luke Skywalker Is NOT Kylo Ren.

luke-skywalker_61489

“Luke’s just not a farmer, Owen. He has too much of his father in him” – Aunt Beru.  

When Luke Skywalker trudged wearily out of his uncle’s igloo in the desert and gazed longingly at the binary sunset, a new icon of SF cinema was made. Moreover, seeing the blond mop and the snazzy pyjamas, it was like seeing my reflection on the big screen; this hero was certainly someone to relate to, and root for.

No matter what that scruffy-lookin’ nerfherder boasted about blasters, me and Luke gobbled up everything we could find about hokey religions and ancient weapons. And yes, many times this lil cake-guzzling perisher stared at the sunset, dreaming about escaping to better far-off places…

Now, while the mass frenzy surrounds the Return of Han Solo, my concerns automatically lie with Luke. With a more substantial teaser trailer for Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens hitting the internet big time earlier this week, how did Mark Hamill feel about returning to his legendary role after all this time? 

“You know, the security is just crazy,” he remarked incredulously. “When we made the original films, you had the odd reporter hanging around the studio, bribing people to give them stories. Now, do I really have to wear this robe and this hood… to go from the trailer to the soundstage?

“They said: “Yeah, there’s drones.” Seriously! There’s drones flying over the studio trying to get pictures of whatever they can.” 

star-wars-episode-7-set-photos-skellig-island-luke-skywalker

“Told you, I did. Reckless is he!” – Yoda. 

A long time ago in a school playground far far away – perhaps because of his gleaming blond hair – Brad would always be chosen to play Luke. Even the other kids could feel the bond between us both. So, blasting stormtroopers? Learning the ways of the force? Taking on the Empire all by meself?! 

Nah…

Half a dozen boys would argue – or fight – over who would play Han Solo, so we never got anywhere. Honestly, the Death Star would have cleared the planet and blown us into smithereens before we knew who was who. A fine Rebel “Alliance” we turned out to be: sheesh!

Both of us had fathers who were legends in their own right.

Luke was led to believe that his father was “a navigator on a spice freighter.”

My father certainly was a mechanic on several planes in the RAF.

“He was the best star pilot in the galaxy.”  

You bet! Still proudly keep his flight gear hanging up in my wardrobe back at my UK base.

“And he was a good friend.”  

Sure was. Took me to watch the original trilogy at the cinema; we often quoted the best lines to each other before he could speak no more… 

Now, me an’ Luke have come so far – fatherless and fearless – and through so much. Most people haven’t got the fuggiest idea what’s happened to Luke in the thirty years since the Battle of Endor; most people couldn’t give a fugg what’s happened to me in the thirty years since reading comics during school hours.

Sure, Luke ended up far far away from Tatooine; this blogger ended up far far away from Taunton.

The Force may have been strong with us once, but our fortunes since leave a lot to be desired. After not hearing anything from him for some considerable time, naturally the anxiety became almost unbearable.    

So it was an absolute joy for me – after all these years – to hear Luke narrating the second trailer, but just before the anticipation grew, rumours spread that he will hardly figure in Episode VII. Suspicions were confirmed last week, when the official movie poster was released. Obviously, his absence from this publicity was the first point everyone noticed.

“I have a very bad feeling about this…”

Lukes_vision

swVIIluke

“It was certainly unexpected… I thought if they did a third trilogy, we wouldn’t be involved. It is really about the new generation of characters. We are just there to lend our support and grow contractually obligated beards” – Mark Hamill. 

Now, what of these rumours swirling around the internet about Luke having turned to the Dark Side – that Luke and this new villain: Kylo Ren are one and the same? 

Well, no. Absolutely not. 

For a start, we have seen the pic of Adam Driver, sans mask, from the Vanity Fair spread a few months back. Luke had constructed his own lightsabre by Episode VI – even impressing his old man with it. So he would not have produced something as crude as Ren’s jagged crossguard sabre.

During the making of Return of the Jedi, Mark Hamill pitched the possibility of Luke turning to the Dark Side. The idea was swiftly shot down by George [Lucas]. Again, in 2005, on a TV talk show called: Dinner For Five – with J.J. Abrams as one of the other guests! – Hamill discussed the idea once more:

“As an actor, that would be more fun to play. I just thought that’s the way it was going… the pivotal moment. I’ll have to come back, but I’ll have Han Solo in my crosshairs and I’ll be about to kill him or about to kill the princess…” 

Now that would cause a great disturbance…

Whatever his screen-time in Episode VII, Luke should feature strongly, even driving the plot. And his (father’s) lightsabre would appear to constitute an important element of these proceedings. Essentially, the premise here might be: The Search For Luke Skywalker, implying a self-imposed exile of some kind. Whatever fate has befallen Luke, it is likely that this Kylo Ren is directly responsible. 

No matter what lousy opportunities have tripped me up in recent years is nothing compared to what my ol’ buddy Luke seems to have suffered. We’ve only got another eight weeks until we can all find out what happened to the farmboy who destroyed a Death Star.

What will Luke have in store for us come 18 December? Will Brad publish a positive review?

One thing you cannot underestimate about him and me:

You’ll find that we’re full of surprises… 

Mark-Hamill-Luke-Skywalker

“Luke Skywalker… Now, that’s a name I’ve not heard in a long time. A long time…” 

10 thoughts on “Luke And Brad: The Two Dreamers Who Had To Unlearn What They Have Learned.

  1. Great post! As a little kid, my “Star Wars” hero was Han Solo. I thought he was super cool and he’s still my favorite Star Wars character. However, I have a lot of respect for Luke as well. I love his story arc in the films, how he discovers his destiny, becomes a Jedi and redeems his father from the dark side. It’s been very interesting to hear the rumors that Luke has gone to the dark side. Part of me hopes these rumors are wrong, because I don’t want to see Luke follow the same path his father did. However, I can see how this would be an interesting plot twist, and something fans may not expect. I guess we’ll all find out Dec. 18! 🙂

    • Thank u for saving this Post, Ashley!
      Th response has – unfortunately – been abysmal, so I’ve been hoping u might pop round! Bless u!
      It’s amazing how back in ’83 Mark Hamill actually pitched Luke turning to th Dark Side(!) It wld really upset th story arc – and a lot of fans!
      I now have a pretty good idea of how th plot for Episode VII might develop, but didn’t want to spoil it for anybody in case I’m right… which I invariably am 😉
      Hope u can get tickets for th 18th – at this rate, I’ll b lucky if I can get a seat before th New Yr!
      1 thing is for sure: Jurassic World WILL get its short-lived opening record smashed!
      May The Force Be With You. Always.

  2. Great piece, especially nice that it has a personal touch/significance. I’m not sure what it says about me that while you were playing Luke, I was – from the age of about 6 to 12 – fantasising about being Darth Vader and force-choking anyone who annoyed me…
    I tend to think you’re right about Kylo Ren – I don’t think he’s Luke either. But i do fear something may be very wrong with Luke and we might not like it – JJ Abrams is known to do dramatic, unexpected things in his films, and we know – as you pointed out – that Mark Hamill has been pitching this Dark Luke idea for a long time.
    I feel strongly that Luke Skwalker embodies and symbolises the ultimate Good Guy, the ultimate hero, who stood firm and resisted the Dark Side – if they change that now, they’ll be ruining the character, the legend, and even pretty much the integrity of the Original Trilogy.

    • Thank u for your Comment, sir!
      Actually, (when I was 7) as I had a stick from th garden shaped exactly like a Bantha-stick, a paper-thin Tusken Raider mask, and, swathed in 1 of Mum’s blankets, I proceeded to terrorise anyone who passed by
      Luke’s fortunes have not bode well, so expect something sad/dramatic.
      But I have to agree w u that th character and integrity of th OT is (possibly) at risk.
      May The Force Be With You. Always.

Leave a Reply

